Sprouted Quinoa Instant Pot Recipe

Today I thought I’d share my simple sprouted quinoa recipe with you.

I sprout my quinoa because it makes the flavor a lot more mild, and completely removes any bitterness. I like regular quinoa ok, but I LOVE sprouted, broth-cooked quinoa fried in butter and salt. Scroll down to see Eytan’s opinion of this quinoa… I hope your toddler will like it, too!

If you don’t have an instant pot, cook the quinoa and broth in a pan on medium-high for two minutes, covered, stirring occasionally.

Tools you will need:

A mason jar with a sprouting lid

Instant Pot

Frying pan 

Ingredients: 

1 cup organic quinoa (for best chances of sprouting)

Enough broth to just barely cover the quinoa – 3/4 cup or so

Salt

Butter or your fat of choice

Method

Soak 1 cup quinoa in a mason jar for two hours

Drain the water with the sprouting lid on and leave upside-down

Fill the jar with water, swish it around, and drain it again a few times a day.

The quinoa usually sprouts overnight. Sometimes it takes up to a full 24 hours. The quinoa is ready to cook when you see the tiniest white tails begin to emerge.

Put the quinoa in your instant pot with just enough broth to barely cover it, about 3/4 cups.

Cook in the Instant Pot for 1 minute on high, and release pressure. 

Heat up a frying pan on high and melt your fat of choice.

Sautee your quinoa to reduce the liquids a bit 

Add a generous amount of salt. 

Serve and enjoy!

Bonus recipe: do the exact same thing with red lentils. 


Comments

One response to “Sprouted Quinoa Instant Pot Recipe”

  1. […] quinoa. Sprouted quinoa, on the other hand, is so delicious, I actually crave it when I’m hungry. Here’s my sprouted quinoa recipe, and here’s what Eytan thinks about […]

    Like

Leave a comment